BBC commentator forced to explain little-known rule that saw Wimbledon star launch racquet in blazing row with umpire

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Pinterest
Pocket
WhatsApp

WIMBLEDON star Luciano Darderi had a blazing row with the umpire over a little-known rule.

The incident occurred on Court 18 yesterday as the Italian was defeated in four sets by Jordan Thompson.

BBCJordan Thompson caught his hat mid-point[/caption]

BBCThe Aussie then played on while holding it and won the point[/caption]

BBCLuciano Darderi was left raging as he believed it broke a little-known rule[/caption]

BBCDarderi chucked his racquet during an argument with the umpire[/caption]

There was a huge moment of controversy early in the match when the Australian had set point in the first.

Thompson’s hat dropped off his head as he served, but he somehow managed to catch it and play the rest of the point with it in his hand.

The world No44 won the point and clinched the opener 6-4.

But Darderi was left fuming and went sprinting towards umpire Mohamed Lahyani to argue.

He claimed the hindrance law should have come into effect as he was put off by the hat falling.

Darderi raged: “It is a rule, you are not allowed to play with the cap like this. You are not.”

Official Lahyani immediately made a phone call to check but informed the players that no rule was broken.

An infuriated Darderi then angrily threw his racquet towards his bag to gasps from fans.

BEST ONLINE CASINOS – TOP SITES IN THE UK

The ruling was then explained by BBC commentator and former Wimbledon doubles champ Todd Woodbridge, who said: “What happened in this point is Jordan Thompson hit the serve and his hat came off with it.

“But in the same motion he grabs it in his left hand.

“He holds it and then plays the whole point, which is multiple shots.

“Now, the umpire could have said, ‘replay the point – hindrance’.

“You get one opportunity for that, if your hat falls off your head or if your ball falls out your pocket, they will replay it once.

“But if it happens a second time it is immediately the point to the opponent.

“The other thing that could have happened is Darderi saying, ‘hold on’, and putting his hand up.

“The umpire then would have ordered a replay of the point.

“He has the right to argue, but he is going to lose because he did not say anything in the first place.

“It is like going back and challenging a call, when the system was in place, you must challenge in that moment.”

Thompson is through to the fourth round and faces fifth seed Taylor Fritz next.

BBCUmpire Mohamed Lahyani chose to not replay the point[/caption]

BBCDarderi was caught out by not flagging that he was distracted as soon as it happened[/caption] Creator – [#item_custom_dc:creator]

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Pinterest
Pocket
WhatsApp

Never miss any important news. Subscribe to our newsletter.

Related News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

TOP STORIES